My work

The Brandon Sun

I covered events all across the board from political announcements to small town fairs. It was never a dull moment in the Sun newsroom.

The Brandon Sun

The Brandon Sun feature

While working at the Sun I had the honour of working on a longform feature. Over the three months that I was on my internship I researched and completed interviews for the story “A Brother’s Secret” which tells the story of a man who died and his family was left to clean up his estate and he happened to be a hoarder. It’s an emotional tale of how anyone can suffer from the mental disorder of hoarding and that it doesn’t just affect those with the illness but also their family and friends.

A Brother’s Secret

In the April, 2016 issue of Editor and Publisher magazine the Brandon Sun was featured in a story about long-form journalism alongside The New York Times and the Post and Courier in Charleston, S.C. who won a Pulitzer Prize last year for its series, “Till Death Do Us Part.” My story “A Brother’s Secret” was mentioned in the article.

Editor and Publisher magazine story

The Western Producer

I covered a little bit of everything at The Western Producer. I had the opportunity to work in all of the different news sections in my 13 weeks there, which has given me a wealth of knowledge in various agricultural topics.

The Western Producer

The Winnipeg Free Press

While working at the Brandon Sun numerous stories that I wrote appeared in the Sun’s sister paper the Winnipeg Free Press which is the daily newspaper for Winnipeg, MB which is the largest city in Manitoba.

The Winnipeg Free Press

Leave a Reply

